Cross promotion at its finest…

Jillian Dodd MANday challenge

Bloody brilliant marketing idea!

Brilliant, I say!!!

Full Disclosure:

I don’t know Jillian Dodd or CJ West. I happened to stumble across Jillian’s blog when she sent a post out to her friends through Goodreads. I normally click on the link just so I can keep up on what other fellow writers are doing, even if it’s not my genre, etc. We are all in this together, so why not show my support, right?

But, when you see an email with the headling “I’ve challenged Author CJ West to appear shirtless”, I would think every female with blood running through her veins would click on the link out of curiosity, alone. I’m guessing the males would too, just to see what their competition is. 🙂

I think Jillian’s contest is one of the most creative, and brilliant marketing ideas of the spring season. I am awed when Claude Bouchard and Luke Romyn team up, and I roar with excitement (in the privacy of my home, of course) as they excel to the top in one of their “free promotions”, but this new contest was just so cool, I can’t wait to see the outcome.

But, think about it. Jillian and CJ have come up with a contest, using the idea of “cross promotion”, but added a little sizzle to it (check out those abs) with hopes of bringing traffic to their sites, and ultimately to their books (product). It is only April now, so CJ has until June to get his abs ready to compete with some of the hottest guys in the universe, and for Jillian to steer traffic to his blog and get 5,000 peeps to comments. (I’m heading there right now!)

I believe Jillian had Channing Tatum as one her hot picks. Channing Tatum, ladies. And, while skipping on over to CJ’s site, I caught a glimpse of David Beckham. You can top the abs on those two greats, right, CJ?

Personally, I think it is cross-promotion at its finest…

I only wish I thought of it, first.

CR HIATT

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
4 comments on “Cross promotion at its finest…
  1. Jillian Dodd - Glitter, Bliss and Perfect Chaos says:

    Thanks!! It’s funny that it really, literally began with me asking about his abs. I was only recently introduced to him, but he’s really been a good sport about it. I will admit though, he sat the bar pretty high with 5,000 comments! But I like a challenge, so we’ll see what happens!! If we get there, we may decide it is brilliant. I’ve also challenged two other authors. We wanted to do it with all three of them, but couldn’t work it out logistically, so after this one, we’ll have another one!! And he’s super cute too!!

    • 5,000 comments is REALLY high, but I think you guys can do it. I, for one, am looking forward to following the progress. At the very least, all of us will get to see the eye candy you present on your blog as the time progresses – and challenges him to get in the best shape, ever. Just be careful, he might turn the tables on you. 🙂

  2. cjwestkills says:

    Jillian and I met up when I started trying to improve my blog and I was really amazed a the number of hits she gets for her MANday posts. Weird being a guy I can’t see posting men’s abs on my page and since I’m marketing mostly to women, scantily clad women are out.

    When Jillian joked about his idea, I thought it was great. Now comes the hard work of getting in shape.

    It’ll be brilliant if…
    a) I get in the best shape I’ve been in for years
    b) I sell some books
    c) Find a new girlfriend
    d) All of the above would be fantastic!

    • I am fairly new to the blogging thing, myself. So, when I happened onto her blog, and noticed what she had going on with the #MANday contest, I thought it was great. From now until June, the challenge is on to direct traffic back and forth to get those 5,000 comments. I think you’re well on your way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog Archive

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

