BLOG HOP – THE NEXT BIG THING

Fellow author, Dana Griffin, tagged me in the Next Big Thing Blog Hop. You know the game, but let me give you a recap, just in case you are feeling out of sorts from all the holiday stress, or perhaps, the holiday liquids.

Once you’ve been tagged, you’re it! Then, you (meaning me, here on this particular blog post), play the game by doing the following:

1) Share a Work in Progress (WIP).

2) Give credit including the URL/link) to the person or blog that tagged you. I was tagged by Dana Griffin, the author of The Cover Up. You can find him on his blog here. His book can be found at Amazon.

3) Play by the rules, and post the rules in your post for the newest victim. 🙂

4) Respond to ten questions about your current WIP, no matter the genre, because maybe – just maybe – we would like to get to know you better (actually, it’s only 9 questions, since the 10th is the next step).

5) Tag other authors or bloggers, with their URL/links.

So, in accordance with the rules, here is my WIP:

What is the working title of your book?

I AM NOT A SPY

Where did the idea of the book come from?

I AM NOT A SPY was adapted from a screenplay I wrote a couple of years ago that garnered a lot of attention from producers and scored big in contests. I can’t tell you where the idea originally came from, because it would give away some of the plot, and compromise top secret information. You know the saying: If I tell ya, I’d have to kill ya. (Kidding, of course)

What genre does your book fall under? Romantic/Suspense and Contemporary Romance with humor and action thrown in. Yes, my first two were Young Adults, but this is for adults of all ages.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie?

For my female heroine, I would love to have Laura Vandervoort

Laura Vandervoort as Kyra

For my male hero, Jesse Metcalfe

Jesse Metcalfe as LeClair

What is a one sentence synopsis for your book?

True Lies meets Romancing the Stone  

Romancing the Stone meets True Lies

Well, okay, that wasn’t really a synopsis, but you get the idea… If I were to break the story down into one sentence, I would say: A covert agent tracks a spoiled Heiress to an island in Mexico when classified information is discovered in her overnight carrier and she is mistaken as a spy.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agent/publisher?

With the wonderful support from other indie authors, it is a great time to go it alone.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

It took me two months to write the screenplay, and I include that into my process, so four months is probably pretty accurate.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Books written by Cherry Adair and Marliss Melton would be similar, based on their descriptions, though I haven’t read them.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

My heroine in this fictional story was based on a friend who just happened to be born into a family with an enormous amount of wealth, and she had a VERY overprotective mother. I wrote the screenplay, which this book was adapted from, to give her an adventure – even though it was only fictional.

What else about your book might interest the reader?

When reading I Am Not A Spy, the reader will enjoy a thrilling, action-packed adventure filled with humor and romance.

Now, off to the tagging … I tag Dawn Torrens and Patricia Paris. If they are not too inundated from the holidays, look for their WIP posts on January 2, 2013.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
6 comments on “BLOG HOP – THE NEXT BIG THING
  1. danagriffin says:

    I Am Not A Spy sounds like a fun story. One of my favorite movies is True Lies, so this will be right up my alley. When do we get to load it onto our ebook device?

    Thanks for playing tag with me. I enjoyed reading this post.

  2. Glad to read your writing ADULT fiction. IM NOT A SPY sounds like a winner. Best wishes with it.

  3. danagriffin says:

    Ah, oh! The two you tagged in the Blog Hop didn’t post today. Boy are they in big trouble. I’m sure the Blog Hop Police will be visiting them soon. I hope they can write from Blog Hop Prison. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog Archive

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

